AU abolishes the study progress requirement of 45 ECTS per academic year

From 1 February 2021, the study progress requirement of passing 45 ECTS per academic year has been abolished for all degree programmes at AU. At the same time, AU’s senior management team has decided to maintain a number of other rules for study progress.

2021.02.16 | Karoline Munk Hansen

As a student at the Faculty of Arts this means that the following rules for progress in your degree programme will still apply:

  • Maximum completion times
    All students at Arts must complete their degree programme within the prescribed study period plus 6 months.
  • The first-year exam
    If you are a Bachelor's student, you must meet the requirements of the first-year exam on your degree programme.
  • Automatic registration to Master's thesis
    If you are Master’s degree student, you will be automatically registered for the Master’s thesis on the fourth semester of the Master's degree programme.
  • The student grant (SU) rule on study progress
    It is important that you keep in mind that the SU rule on study progress is still in force. This means, payment of your SU will be stopped, if you are delayed by more than 30 ECTS credits.

Where can I find more information?
You can find information on all important study rules on your study portal – more specifically under “Rules and guidelines”.

If you have any questions about the rules or you need guidance, you are always welcome to contact the student counsellors for your degree programme.