Master's thesis

According to the academic regulations, the Master’s thesis is an extensive and in-depth exploration of a topic relevant to the field of political science within the following academic areas:

  • Comparative politics
  • Political behaviour and opinion formation
  • Public administration
  • Political institutions and public policy
  • International politics
  • Political theory
  • Political sociology

The Master’s thesis is concluded with a take-home paper focused on a more specific issue.

In practice, you may write your Master’s thesis on any topic which is approved by a supervisor.

Information meeting about Master's thesis

Every semester an information meeting is held for future Master's thesis students, at which you, among other things: can hear about the thesis writing process, including the formal requirements and how to select supervisor.

Thesis information meetings in 2024:

  • 16 May at 15:15-17:00
  • 3 September at 15:15-17:00

You will receive an invitation to the information meeting via Brightspace.


Deadlines Master's thesis in the spring semester Master's thesis in the autumn semester**

Deadline for request for/choice of supervisor

5 December 5 June
Deadline for uploading your preliminary title and thesis statement in WISEflow 20 January 20 August
Master's thesis submission deadline 15 June 15 January
Deadline for uploading a revised thesis statement 26 June 26 January
Master's thesis submission deadline, second attempt* 30 September 30 April
Deadline for uploading a revised thesis statement 10 October 10 May
Master's thesis submission deadline, third attempt* 15 January 15 August

*These deadlines only apply if you do not submit your thesis within the submission deadline for your first or second examination attempt respectively. Other rules/deadlines apply if you do not pass your first or second examination attempt (please refer to the section “Submission of Master’s thesis” below”).

** These dates apply to students starting their programme in the winter and to students who have been granted dispensation to write their Master's thesis in the autumn semester.

If the date of the submission deadline for the Master's thesis falls on a Saturday, Sunday or public holiday, the deadline for submission of the Master's thesis will be the next working day immediately following this date.